Mouse is Choppy in Virtual PC

Recently I bought a new Dell XPS laptop and installed Microsoft Virtual PC so that I could use my existing virtual hard drives.  Everything went smoothly with one exeption, my mouse was choppy.  As I moved across the screen the mouse studdered a bit, which was enough to be incredibly anoying especially once I started working.  Down to the solution. 

I first increased the mouse Sampling Rate from 100 to 200.  This seemed to help but I still wasn’t satisfied.  I then increased the Input Buffer Length to 300.  It was hard to tell, but I believe this also helped.  It is unfortunate that you have to reboot after making the changes because it is difficult to see the differences.  I ended up deciding that it was good enough at these new settings.

To access these settings:
Control Panel -> Mouse -> Hardware Tab -> Properties -> Advanced Settings

Explore posts in the same categories: Virtual PC

One Comment on “Mouse is Choppy in Virtual PC”

  1. Kevin W Says:

    Thanks Tom!

    This tip helped.

    KW


Leave a Reply

