Installed Windows 8 and Visual Studio Express 2012

It is time that I got started on Windows 8. Last night I installed Windows 8 and Visual Studio Express 2012. I certainly was happy that I didn’t run into any issues other than a screen flickering until I rebooted.  In order to install it, I downloaded the iso and burned it to disk because I wanted to be sure to install on a separate partition.  I’m not sure how the downloadable setup.exe would work.

Tip: Create a partition
I created a new partition in Windows 7 prior to installing Windows 8 which worked out great.

  1. Open Disk Management.
  2. Select a drive with excess space.
  3. Shrink the drive.
  4. Format unallocated space.
  5. Name the drive Win8 or something to identify it.

That way when you install Windows 8 you can be sure select the correct partition and not overwrite your working operating system(s).

Explore posts in the same categories: Windows 8

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

