Windows 8 Store – Stuck verifying identity

When submitting to the Windows 8 Store, I ran into an issue with step #1 of the certification process. I was getting a warning message: “We haven’t finished verifying your identity. After we verify your identity, we’ll start certifying your app.”  Sounds reasonable, so at first I assumed they just needed more time, however, the screen says that it will only take an hour. Oh well, it is a new process so I’ll give it until tomorrow. Well, it was still the same. After chatting and talking with Microsoft Support as well as few rounds with Symantec (the identity verification company) still no luck and it is still stuck waiting for the identity to be verified.

So how did I solve it:

I noticed that if I changed my publisher name, the identity process would get kicked off again. So I tried it, we received the emails both for developer and corporate approver. Ok, now we are cooking. I then waited until morning to see if that fixed it, but it didn’t so I contacted Symantec again over chat and this time they said they just need to push it through and 15 mins later I was verified. I probed them a bit, and Symantec said to contact them if this issue occurs.

So my point of writing this, is so you don’t waste time. Contact Symantec if you get that warning message for more than an hour in my opinion. I wasted 5 days on it. Feel free to send cash if this save you. Ha j/k. However, if you want to, feel free.🙂

Here is the chat linked that I used: www.geotrust.com/microsoftmarketplace/chatsupport You will need your order number (or also labeled Microsoft Developer Services Account)

Before contacting Symantec make sure you have the following in order:

  1. Make sure you use a company email domain for the approver (i.e. not Yahoo or Gmail)
  2. Make sure your company approver has actually approved it. They will receive an email. This was not my problem, but I could see this being the cause.
  3. Make sure to fill out the Payout information and Tax information. I don’t know if it is really needed to fix this issue but I was told that it is needed by Microsoft, however Symantec said that it didn’t. Just fill it out. Note: after mine was filled out I still had to contact Symantec to get the process pushed through.

Good Luck,
Tom

Explore posts in the same categories: Windows 8

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

